Skip to content

By state

How many questions are on the permit test?

The short answer: usually somewhere between about 20 and 50, with a pass mark commonly around 80%. The exact numbers depend on your state — and we only publish figures we've checked against the official source.

Last reviewed October 30, 2026

The general pattern

There is no national permit test. Each state's licensing agency writes its own, so the number of questions, the pass mark and the format all vary. Across the country, though, the tests look broadly alike: a multiple-choice exam of a few dozen questions on traffic laws, signs and safe driving, with most states requiring somewhere in the 70–85% range to pass.

The number matters less than you'd think. A longer test gives you more room to absorb a mistake or two; a shorter one means each question is worth more. Either way, the preparation is the same: learn the rules well enough to score 90% or more on practice tests, and the exact length stops mattering.

Permit test questions and pass marks by state

Every figure below comes from the state's own driver handbook or licensing-agency website, as recorded on our state pages in October 2026. Where a state doesn't publish a number, the table says Not published, and we don't fill the gap with a figure from another site. 21 of 51 jurisdictions publish both the question count and the pass mark. Rows marked ⚑ have a source caveat. Follow the state link for the full rules and official sources.

StateQuestionsPass markNotes
AlabamaNot publishedNot publishedALEA does not publish an official count or pass mark.
Alaska2080%16 correct, 25-minute limit.
Arizona3080%24 correct.
ArkansasNot publishedNot publishedArkansas State Police does not publish an official count or pass mark.
CaliforniaNot published80%Question count not published.
ColoradoNot publishedNot publishedColorado DMV does not publish an official count or pass mark.
Connecticut2580%20 correct.
Delaware3281.25%26 correct.
District of Columbia30Not published30 on the GRAD test (ages 16–20), 25 on the standard test (21+); pass mark not published.
Florida50Not publishedPass mark not stated in the handbook.
Georgia4075%Two 20-question sections (road rules, road signs); 15 correct on each.
Hawaii30Not publishedCount from the Honolulu online permit test; pass mark not published.
Idaho4085%Miss no more than 6.
Illinois3580%At least 35 questions (92 Ill. Adm. Code 1030.80).
IndianaNot published80%80% on each component; question count not published.
IowaNot publishedNot publishedIowa DOT does not publish the count or pass score for the real test.
Kansas2580%20 correct; not timed.
KentuckyNot published80%Question count not published.
LouisianaNot published80%Count not published. ⚑ Source is the 2013 OMV guide; a newer edition may exist.
Maine3080%24 correct.
Maryland2588%22 correct, 20-minute limit.
Massachusetts2572%18 correct, 25-minute limit.
MichiganNot publishedNot publishedTeens under 18 pass the Segment 1 driver-ed exam (70%) instead of an SOS test; the adult test's count and pass score aren't published.
MinnesotaNot published80%Question count not published.
MississippiNot publishedNot publishedMDPS publishes neither the count nor the pass score.
Missouri2580%20 correct, plus a separate road sign test.
MontanaNot publishedNot publishedMontana MVD does not publish the count or pass score.
NebraskaNot publishedNot publishedNebraska DMV does not publish the count or pass score.
NevadaNot publishedNot publishedThe DMV 700 handbook does not state the count or pass score.
New Hampshire4080%The test stops after more than 8 wrong.
New Jersey5080%40 correct.
New MexicoNot publishedNot publishedThe NM manual gives no count or pass score.
New York2070%14 correct, including at least 2 of the 4 road-sign questions.
North CarolinaNot publishedNot publishedNCDMV does not publish the count or pass score.
North DakotaNot publishedNot publishedNDDOT does not publish the count or pass score.
Ohio4075%30 correct.
OklahomaNot publishedNot publishedService Oklahoma does not publish the count or pass score.
Oregon3580%28 correct.
Pennsylvania1883%15 correct.
Rhode Island40Not publishedComputer test, up to 90 minutes; the manual does not state the pass score.
South CarolinaNot publishedNot publishedSCDMV does not publish the count or pass score.
South DakotaNot publishedNot publishedSD DPS does not publish the count or pass score.
TennesseeNot publishedNot publishedThe Tennessee manual does not publish the count or pass score.
TexasNot published70%DPS does not publish the question count.
UtahNot published80%DLD does not publish the question count.
Vermont2080%16 correct.
VirginiaNot published80%Part 1: 10 sign questions, all 10 must be right. Part 2: 80%; Part 2 question count not published.
WashingtonNot publishedNot publishedThe DOL guide does not publish the count or pass score.
West Virginia2576%At least 25 questions; 19 correct.
Wisconsin5080%40 correct, plus a separate 15-question signs test (12 correct).
WyomingNot publishedNot publishedWYDOT does not publish the count or pass score. ⚑ Source is the 2021 manual (latest found).

How to work out how many you can miss

Once you know your state's numbers, calculate your margin. Multiply the total questions by your pass percentage to get the minimum correct, then subtract that from the total. A few examples, using made-up but typical formats:

QuestionsPass markNeed correctCan miss
2080%164
2580%205
3080%246
4075%3010
5080%4010

If the result isn't a whole number, round the "need correct" figure up — you can't get 80% with 19.5 answers.

Tests that end early

Some states use a test that stops as soon as the outcome is certain. If you reach the number of correct answers needed to pass, the test ends and you pass, even if there were more questions to go. The same happens in reverse: miss one more than the allowed number and it ends immediately. Don't read anything into a short test until you see the result.

Separate sections

A few states split the exam into sections — typically road signs and road rules — and require a passing score on each. In that format, being brilliant at rules doesn't make up for weak signs. If your state works this way, take the road signs test until you score 100%; it's the cheapest insurance you can buy.

Motorcycle and CDL tests

Motorcycle permits use a separate knowledge test based on the state's motorcycle operator manual. Commercial licenses use their own tests too; federal regulations require every CDL knowledge test to have at least 30 questions with a pass score of at least 80%. See our motorcycle permit test and CDL practice test.

Practicing at the right length

Our exam mode draws questions at random and grades you against a pass mark, so you can rehearse the real thing. On the national pages it uses a common format of 25 questions at 80%. As each state page goes live, its exam mode will use that state's verified count and pass mark. Start with the free practice permit test.

Frequently asked questions

How many questions can I miss on the permit test?

Multiply the number of questions by the share you're allowed to miss. For example, an 80% pass mark on a 25-question test means you can miss 5. Use your state's exact numbers from its official handbook.

Why does my test have a different number of questions than my friend's?

States set their own formats, and some tests stop early once you have answered enough correctly (or incorrectly). Different license classes and endorsements also have separate tests.

Is there a separate road signs test?

Some states give a separate signs section with its own pass requirement; others mix sign questions into one test. The table notes this where verified.

Are the motorcycle and CDL tests the same length?

No. Motorcycle and commercial knowledge tests are separate exams with their own lengths. Federal rules require CDL knowledge tests to have at least 30 questions and an 80% pass score.